Inviting to Inbox

Mailtrap gives you three option to share your data with team mates: inviting them directly to an inbox, inviting them to a project and inviting them to the account via User Management page. No worries, you can choose any, as a person added in one of those places is visible in the others. E.g. if you add a person to the inbox directly, you’ll see them in User Management table too.


You must have inbox admin, project admin, account admin or account owner permission level to add people to an inbox. See how to check your permission level in User Management.
Start typing the email address of your team mate. If they already belong to the account, Mailtrap will show them in the dropdown list. Select the user and their inbox permission level (inbox admin or inbox viewer) and click “Add Team Member”. They will have access to the inbox immediately.
If your team mate wasn’t previously invited to the account and/or doesn’t have the Mailtrap user registered, they will not appear in the dropdown. Finish typing their full email address, choose their inbox permission level (admin or viewer) and click “Add Team Member”. They will receive an invitation to their email address and will need to follow the instructions. You can resend the invite from the three dots menu.
You can manage the permissions of the invited user by clicking “Edit permissions” under the three dots menu. It works both for users who already joined the account and those who were invited and didn’t accept invite yet.
Inbox admins can rename and delete the inbox, manage inbox settings (e.g. reset the credentials or add forwarding rules) add and remove inbox team members.
Inbox viewers can see all the inbox messages, but can’t edit anything (e.g. inbox email address or forwarding domains). Neither can they add or remove inbox team mates.
The Team Members tab shows the list of people who currently have access or were invited to the inbox.
If you were invited to an inbox and can’t find it in the list of your inboxes, make sure that the right account is selected in the top right dropdown menu.

If you have permissions higher than Inbox Admin, you can follow the link near the title to manage the project users.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us