Sharing inboxes

Organize test emails you send from different environments into separate inboxes. Find out how to manage access to your Mailtrap messages, and what you can do with inboxes shared with you by others.

In this article

How to organize your test data in Mailtrap

To let you quickly find your data, switch between different tasks, and share your testing results with colleagues or clients, Mailtrap automatically organizes your messages into different inboxes (these are grouped into projects). 

Usually, Mailtrap users tend to create separate inboxes for different environments: development, test, or staging. Each inbox is defined by SMTP credentials (your username and password). If necessary, you can reset them at any time. 

How to share your inboxes with others

For effortless collaboration with your colleagues or customers, you can share data of your choice with them: separate inboxes or whole projects (to learn how to share projects, check this article - Sharing projects).

Sharing options are available starting from the Team plan. The sharing feature is called Team members. In each appropriate subscription plan, there is a number of unique email addresses (users) that can be invited to inboxes and/or projects. 

You can invite anyone, even if they don't have a Mailtrap account yet. To share an inbox, you need to know the email address of the person who you want to make a Team member:

  1. Open the inbox you'd like to share.
  2. Go to the Team Members tab.
  3. Enter the email address of your team member you'd like to share this inbox with.

Once you click the Add Member button, the email invitation will be sent to the specified email address. The recipient should accept the email invitation. 

If they don't have a Mailtrap account, they will be asked to create a free one. 

Inboxes shared with you by others

You can be invited to any inbox or project as a user regardless of the subscription plan you currently use. Users can view the content of the inbox or the whole project but only owners may invite or delete members. You will find the inboxes shared with you on the app's home page. 

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us